Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (13) - DVDs (1)

Back to the Future review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 10 March 2012 10:52 (A review of Back to the Future)

It is, undeniably, one of the greatest summer flicks of all time. Marty McFly became the hero of many when he entered the futurisc Delorean for the first time and traveled not in miles, but in time, through his own past generations. The film is fun and smart, J. Fox is witty, Christopher Lloyd's Emmet Brown is nuts, and the story itself is fantastically well written. This was the formula for an easy to follow and quite enjoyable teen sci-fi.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Man from Earth review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 10 March 2012 10:50 (A review of The Man from Earth)

Even though its a quite limited film, much because of its low budget, it has a really powerful script, that certainly will leave anyone chewing on some hardcore questions concerning mankind.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

This Is England review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 10 March 2012 10:49 (A review of This Is England)

Many other filmmakers dared to portray their own countries' neo-nazi/skinhead/ultra-nationalist subculture, such as Geoffrey Wright with Romper Stomper, Alan Clarke's Made In Britain, or Tony Kaye's American History X, to name some examples. Obviously I wasn't much impressed by the theme. It wasn't new. But what the others kind of fail to deliver to the audience, this one does it quite well. I'm talking about the human side of the characters. We see that skinheads, in this case, are not just simple haters and racist personas, but that those convictions always have a background, and that they don't become that way just because they felt like it. In his case, the background may be a broken home (Combo), the loss of a role model (Shaun) or even the desire to be respected somehow when that isn't happening (Gadget), among other causes. Overall, although it didn't impress me much, I still recognize its quality. Kudos to Meadows.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Animal Kingdom review

Posted : 5 years, 5 months ago on 10 March 2012 10:47 (A review of Animal Kingdom)

It's trully an annoyance to know how the crime genre in filmmaking has become so much overcrowded with so much of the same kind of crime stories, yet there are quite a few that I may consider to be a breeze of fresh air, or instead, a fresh breeze of "samo samo". It's there that I place films like Gomorrah, to name an example, or this Animal Kingdom, which brings another story concerning vengeance, brutality and ruthless criminals, however with a completely different pace, an amazing score, and specially, a fantastic character study, with the ideal of familiar bond working as the basis for the plot.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 1 2Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block